Total Pageviews

Monday, November 3, 2025

Catherine & Peterhof Palaces


#CatherinePeterhofPalaces

Known as the summer residence of the Russian Tsars, it was originally built in 1717 for Catherine (wife of Peter the Great) and was considered a very modest building during those times

It was later transformed by her daughter Empress Elizabeth into the extravagant Rococo styled palace under her favorite architect Bartolomeo Rastrelli, who was known for his plethora of decorative details, columns and statuary
Then under Catherine the Great another change as the interiors were redesigned as she imported artists and designers from Western Europe to bring the latest trends to Russia that included classical motifs and luxury materials
 To present day, restorations continue as its a major part of the Tsarskoye Selo State Museum and Heritage Site

KeyTip
Tickets for the palace also include access to Catherine Park which is free if aged 16 years or younger so plan a half day for viewing both areas
It is suggested to arrive early during peak tourist season to avoid the long lineups

 


Expensive Metals
In the beginning a large quantity of gold (100kg / 220 pounds) was used during the reconstruction phase (during in the 1700s) and it was applied to the numerous gilded atlantes, caryatids, pilasters
 plus chapel domes
When Catherine the Great succeeded Elizabeth, she found this to be too excessive so had some of the exterior gold gliding replaced with a bronze or an olive green wash

Second World War
The palace was severely damaged and most of actual plated gold on the facade was lost, thus the exterior today uses a gold paint or gilded stucco

Caryatids and Atlantes
Are Female and Male figures used in architecture  (provides support much like a column would) with both having a Greek history
Caryatids; from the 6th century BC and was connected to Artemis Caryatis for the young women who danced in her honor
 Atlantes; the Greek word Atlas; who was cursed by Zeus to hold up the sky for eternity


German sculptor Johann Franz Dunker made 48 large models for the first story and another 88 statues for the second floor that he finished in 1756


Rocco Architecture
The name itself comes from the French word "rocaille" which refers to natural motifs like rocks and shells in which are prominent in its designs
It was a theatrical style that emerged in the 18th century France
and is characterized by flowing curved lines, pastel color palettes and elaborate decorations

Emphasis was on dramatic type of interior with elaborate focal points like a grand staircase to highlight the surrounding decorations with different viewpoints


Other Locations of Rococo Architecture

A) Amalienburg Pavilion Munich Germany; known for its Hall of Mirrors
B) Hotel de Soubise Paris France;  for its interior in the oval Salon de la Princesse
C) Sanssouci Palace Potsdam Germany; the former residence of Frederick the Great and its terraced gardens
D) Wurzburg Residence Germany; a palace featuring its grand staircase


Amber Room

While Rococo building exteriors are often simpler the inside are richly embellished with sculpted stucco, large mirrors (to reflect the light to expand the sense of space) and of gold accents
Also the theme uses an Illusionistic Art on the ceilings that often feature the vision of open skies or mythological scenes to give you that sense of wonder

As we enter this area the original was considered the "Eighth Wonder of the World" as it was an 18th Century masterpiece containing over six tons of amber, gold leaf and mirrors that eventually was gifted from the Prussian King Frederick William to Russian Tsar Peter the Great

During the Nazi invasion of the Soviet Union in 1941, the German forces dismantled and looted the room panels and had them transported back believing that the "Gift" should be returned to Prussia
But before retreating the soldiers also destroyed 58 rooms by fire but thankfully the Palace caretakers managed to hide some of the smaller items

Then in 1979 the Soviet government began a 24 year project of reconstructing the room by mostly relying on old black and white photos plus a few of the saved original pieces
The new Amber Room finally opened to the public in 2003 to coincide with the 300th anniversary
of St Petersburg


Grand Theft
The stolen Amber Room panels and trimmings was placed in 27 crates and shipped by rail to the German city of Konigsberg (then the capital of Prussia) which then was reassembled and displayed at the castle within the city
Then during the beginning of the end
The Nazis dismantled and stowed the contents of the Amber Room during the blitz
 as the British and American bombers started attacking the area

Lost Treasures
Thus it remains one of the art worlds greatest unsolved mysteries
 For its hidden location or did it survive the allied attack (as remember) Amber is an organic gemstone formed from ancient tree resin
 So it could have melted during the explosions and fires within the castle during the air raid


Peterhof Palace
It was built by Peter the Great in the 1700s as a summer country estate but after visiting Versailles France (and being awestruck) he transformed it into a grand imperial residence 



The Facade
The exterior is primarily constructed from brick, painted in its signature buttercup yellow with white pillars and glided elements
The Palace "only" has 30 rooms, so relatively modest in size compared to other imperial residences

World War Atrocities
The German forces occupied Peterhof from 1941-1944 with widespread looting and systematically destroying much of the palace and its grounds with 70% of the statues that also went missing during this period

The Rebuild
Reconstruction started immediately after the German liberation in 1944 with the Lower Park reopened to the public the following year
Slowly then the halls of the Grand Palace in 1964 plus the Grand Cascade and its 138 water jets
and so on
Restoration work continues to this day 



The Grand Cascade
It includes 64 fountains, 255 bronze sculptures  and 2 grottoes which are designed to create a spectacular water display that then flows back to the sea channel

Samson Fountain (bottom left)
Its the biblical hero Samson tearing open a lions jaws to symbolize the Russian victory over Sweden in the Great Northern War
The fountain has the highest water spray ( 20 meters or 65 feet) plus is glided to create a impactful visual effect when the sun reflects of it, all to emit the show of strength and power

Canal System
The system uses a natural elevation to create water pressure without pumps that travels from 16kms (10 miles) away to feed the 150 fountains and Cascades at the palace then ultimately flowing back into the Gulf of Finland


The Dragon Cascade
Also known as the Chessboard Hill with its three large brightly colored dragons at the top of the waterfall


Swan Maidens (Rusalki or Vodyanitsy)

Slavic mythology features "water maidens" who can take the form of swans or other water birds
which are associated with bodies of water which according to folklore have two personalities




Aviaries Pavilion
 This twelve-sided dome topped building was built in 1721 to house birds so Peter the Great could enjoy his collection and so he could hear them sing

Upper Park Gardens
It was designed as a front courtyard to create a grand entrance to the palace with its hedges, symmetrical gardens and green lawns


The Replacements
During the war occupation many of the original statues were looted or destroyed
Some were returned while others had to be completely remade based on archival materials

The newer versions were replaced with a more durable gilded bronze that would not deteriorate like the initial lead metal predecessors

Thursday, October 30, 2025

High Line Trail New York City


#HighLineTrailNewYork

The high-line was born out of a necessity as the street level train transportation in New York City had over 500 fatalities, thus the tracks were elevated as a solution to the dangerous street crossings
Finally with the emergence of trucking the rail was abandoned in the 1980s

 


West Side Cowboys
Trying to mitigate the danger crossings at this time the city hired and recruited from the western cattle ranches, hence the name and they worked the streets known as "Death Avenue" 

 The Gig
The role was to be a safety officer by waving red flags during the day and lanterns at night to
signal oncoming trains
In those times we must remember that the trains shared the roads with carriages, trolleys and pedestrians 

The Inspiration
The Promenade Plantee in Paris opened in 1993 and was the worlds first elevated urban park that was built on the abandoned Vincennes railway line
 This was the idea plus inspiration for the High Line (as New York officials have acknowledged) when they modelled their version that was available to the public in 2009 


 
Green Environment
Moving forward it has become a thriving ecosystem with over 500 species of plants and trees
Also it gives great views of the city, the Hudson River plus hosts community events, music performances and shows public art
It now has inspired other cities in America to transform their neglected infrastructure into
public spaces



 Hectors Diner
Located under the High Line and was
 featured in the film Taxi Driver plus several episodes of Law & Order


 Trail With Art Installations

A) The Plinth; a space dedicated to a rotating series of new, monumental and contemporary art commissions that remain on display for 18 months
B) Murals; various works with some depicting connections between nature and humanity
C) Videos by various artists plus a large glass installation  inspired by the Hudson River and so on


Fun Fact
They removed over 100 tons of steel railroad tracks from the High Line but some got reused
 again as design features in the park


Chelsea Market Skybridge
Yes it is a 1930s art-deco structure but did you know one of the two buildings is a
 former Nabisco factory site where the Oreo Cookie was invented



Foodie Stop
The market takes up a full city block in the Chelsea neighborhood and is famous for a wide variety of vendors selling gourmet foods, artisanal goods  plus prepared meals and all housed in this
historic factory building
 It went under much preservations to keep its original industrial character which certainly adds to the vibe of the area


Whitney Museum

Some Early History
Gertrude was born a Vanderbilt so into extravagant wealth but used her married name Whitney as a pseudonym for her exhibitions of her sculptures to get an unbiased review of her work
She was a significant supporter of modern American artists who struggled to gain recognition from traditional institutions as she "Lived" their world of frustration

Then she approached the Metropolitan Museum with her collection of 700 pieces of art for donation
 and was rejected
So established her own museum which ironically is near the tracks in which the Vanderbilt family made a majority of their fortune through the nations railroads

The Reasons
So this is why when it opened in 1930 it was the first museum dedicated to
living American artists   






Iconic Street Art
Another piece as i finish up my walking tour


High Line Success
It has now inspired similar "Rails to Trails" projects
 in cities all over the world

Pancake Rocks of New Zealand


#PancakeRocksNewZealand
The Pancake Rocks were formed millions of years ago with the shells and skeletons of marine creatures  when much of New Zealand was submerged

 


Early Beginnings
Each stack has its own unique shape due to the wind, rain and the acidic waters of the ocean with each layer separated by siltstone
Thus when the geological lift eventually pushed the ocean floor above sea level, erosion took away the softer sediment leaving the harder limestone strata which gives it the "pancake" look we have today




KeyTip;
The site is located on the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand
The trail is well maintained and free for all to see the formations around the looped walk


The Devils Cauldron
The moniker evokes peril with the powerful forces of nature
 So with that in mind, the name is used
with areas around the world including geothermal locations, waterfalls and even a golf course in my country of Canada

 Lucifers Spin
Here in New Zealand, its because of this coastal inlet that the surge pool rises and swirls dramatically to give it that look of chaos from a deep vortex of water

Blowholes
For best viewing you want to make sure your there during high tide
Then you will witness the sea surging into the underground passages in which the water is forced through vertical channels creating the spectacular geysers of spray

Karst Erosion
 It is a slow process where the chemical eats away at the limestone with the action of the water flowing into the joints or layers which then creates underground caverns
 with its collapse



Punakaiki Marine Reserve
The Pancake Rocks are within this area which protects the coastline and is also on the edge
of the Paparoa National Park

Hector Dolphins
While your here you maybe lucky enough to see some, which are the worlds rarest playing near the rocks (entanglement in commercial fishing nets, disease and low birth rates) 

Other Species
 To be found in the area include many types of birds like the  Kaka parrot, Great Spotted Kiwi,
 Weka flightless bird
Also Fur Seals, Carpet Sharks and a Banded Kokopu which is a freshwater fish

Kizhi Island


#KizhiIslandChurches

The island is famous for its open-air museum of wooden architecture of century old churches all constructed without nails
They were built onsite using horizontal logs of pine that interlocked by using joining
 techniques which showed the skillset of the local craftsmen

The Methods;
A) Round notches was used for the exterior corners which added stability and helped drain water away from the building
B) The dovetail notch system was applied on the interior walls which provided a strong mechanical connection that prevented tension or twisting
C) Scribing was the practice of tracing the natural contours of the lower log onto the underside of the next log to be placed above it which resulted in an exact fit
This creating a tight seal that helped insulate the structure from the harsh northern climate
D) For weight distribution the timber were stacked plus interlocked so that the force from the upper tiers and domes was distributed across numerous joints
Also the length of the lumber were kept between 3 to 6 meters ( 9 to 19 feet) to avoid bending 


Early History

A) It was a trade route for the local iron-ore deposits from Novgorod Region to the White Sea (14th Century) which at this time was of an economic importance 
B) Spassky Church was built here plus other forms of settlements in the area, which then turned into a religious center during the 16th Century
C) Early 1700s a Defense Post was established to fend off Swedish and Polish invaders
 But there were also issues on the island itself, as the peasants revolted over the harsh, mostly forced labor that was thrust upon them
D) By the 1950s most of the residents left the island leaving behind the remarkable wooden structures
E) Finally in the 1960s the open-air museum was established 



The Church of the Transfiguration
It was built in 1714 (as legend would say) by the carpenter Master Nestor with only with an axe and after he was finished threw the tool into the lake declaring no one could build
another one like it

Twenty Two Domes
Its to represent the 33 years of the life of Christ as there are additional 10 domes on a second
 church nearby to get to that number


Onion Domes
There are to resemble flames to symbolize the holy spirit and the light of God
To be interpreted as representing the heavens with a connection to the divine realm

The Numbers;
A) One; it symbolizes Jesus Christ
B) Three; for the Holy Trinity
C) Five; representing Christ and the Four Evangelists
D) Twelve or Thirteen; The Apostles and Christ
E) Fourteen Plus; may include prophets or other significant religious figures

Practical Purposes
A) Because of the sloping sides it allows the snow to slide off easily
B) Gives the building an inherent structural strength



Workshops
The island now hosts training programs to focus on the past traditional skills of the wooden architecture to show how to carry on with the conservation / restoration expertise
So you will get a hands-on experience here as the Church of the Transfiguration as its
 an ongoing project


The Island of Kizhi
Its in the northwest part of Russia and while not Siberia it is situated in a region
 with a similar climate

Adversity
Its bitter cold during the winter season, the homes were constructed to shelter both humans and livestock which provided warmth from the animal heat
Also being an isolated island does not help, as the closest settlement of Petrozavodsk
was 70 kms (43 miles) away
 Add in a short growing season plus that of the strenuous physical labor and you have not what i would call ideal living conditions

Fortitude
There was a resilience and sense of community despite all the challenges, as Kizhi was a thriving spiritual / administrative center for itself plus all the surrounding villages


Todays Museum
There is now over 80 wooden buildings that are on the island plus some of the structures where moved here like the church from the Murom Monastery that was on the eastern shore of Lake Onega
(same body of water that Kizhi is found on)


Church of Lazarus
Originally built by the monk Lazarus in 1391 as a place for pilgrimage plus it also had a rumor to miraculously cure illness

Moved
It was disassembled and relocated to Kizhi Island in 1959, with a small restoration that included replacing a few rotted portions of the structure


Artisans Workmanship
To compare, this is a hand man wooden frame that took many weeks to complete with the traditional methods here on the island
 Where in an industrial setting would be days and certainly not as stylish 


World Heritage Site
Kizhi was included on the UNESCO list at the same time as the
 historic center of St. Petersburg and the Moscow Kremlin

Wednesday, October 29, 2025

Vasa Ship & Museum


#VasaShipMuseum

The Vasa was a 17th century warship that sank on its maiden voyage in 1628 and it was not salvaged until 333 years later
 To finally be seen in Stockholm Sweden at its museum

KeyTip; 
The admission is free ages 18 and under with adults around $24 USD depending on the time of year
It takes about two hours to view and well worth it to see a 90% preserved battleship

 


The ship was commissioned by King Gustavus Adolphus during the Thirty Years War
 The Vasa was intended to be the pride of the Swedish Navy by showing itself as a powerful symbol of the nations military might with its two gun decks and other combat capabilities
 This included 64 cannons which could launch 250kg (550 pounds) of shot, which was twice as much as any other powerful European vessels of her day


The ship was lavishly decorated with hundreds of sculptures (this grandeur was ordered by the Monarch) but the vessel was dangerously unstable due to design flaws which included being excessively tall and top heavy with also an insufficient ballast

Before the launch tests revealed the craft was unstable but no one dared to report the problems to the impatient King



The Vasa set sail from Stockholm harbor in view of a full crowd but only managed to go 1300 meters (4300 feet) when a gust of wind caused the ship to list, thus taking on water through the open gun ports with the vessel quickly sinking and taking at least 30 lives

The ship was largely forgotten until the 1950s and because of the cold, brackish (low-salt) waters of the Baltic Sea it had preserved the wooden hull
Divers spent the next two years digging tunnels under the hull to pass steel cables through which then slowly lifted the ship to the surface in 1961

With the Preservation;
 A) It started with using a polyethylene glycol (which is a waxy substance) gradually infused into the wood to replace the water which prevented it from shrinking and cracking as it dried
B) The ship was moved into a custom built museum that is climate controlled which officially opened in 1990
C) Any of the other artifacts recovered aboard have gone under a separate preservation process like the sails that were saved by using a fiberglass backing plus acrylic solution


Despite the Vasa disaster the Swedish military and country continued to grow plus also to emerge a a major European power 

Fun Fact;
In the 1830s the Swedish Navy planted over 300,000 oak trees to ensure a future supply of timber for their fleet
However by the time the trees matured (150 years) wooden warships were obsolete and being replaced by steel vessels
 But the forest still stands today, thus something good actually came out of a war


Interesting Latin phrase to use (Taste and See that the Lord is Good) when Sweden was building military strength which comes with aggression and fatalities
Sweden at this time was vying with the Polish - Lithuanian Commonwealth for the control of the Baltic Sea coastline
Eventually King Gustavus Adolphus was successful earning the moniker "The Lion of the North"


There has always been a myth with the sea;

A) The Greeks; believed Poseidon ruled with his trident plus Aphrodite and Oceanus also controlled the oceans
B) Japanese; they had Ryujin who was a dragon god that manipulated the tides and resided in an underwater palace
C) Inuit; Sedna which was a sea Goddess who ruled marine animals
D) Norse; the water was ruled by the godly couple Aegir and Ran who was feared for her net that could pull sailors to their death 



 
A group of Finnish students put a small statue of the famous runner Paavo Nurmi on the ship (the night before its final lift) as a prank before it was sent to be fully restored, this confused the archaeologists at the time 😅

No hard feelings; as now the figurine is now kept as a piece of the ships history at the museum 

Tuesday, October 21, 2025

Georgetown DC & Exorcist Film

 


#GeorgetownExorcistFilm

Georgetown was established in 1751 to be an area to serve as a port for the lumber
 and tobacco industries, before being annexed into Washington


William Blatty (he was an alumnus of Georgetown University) was inspired to write the novel after reading about an actual exorcism that happened in nearby Mount Reiner
The 75 steep stairs became famous after being featured in the 1973 horror film The Exorcist, plus other scenes were also filmed around the campus
Thus this explains why a lot of students and faculty became extras in this cult classic

Now at the University it has a Halloween tradition called The Healy Howl, where students watch the movie then go to the Jesuit Gravesite to bark at the moon when the midnight hour strikes

Healy Hall Seal
Other traditions at Georgetown University; it is considered to be bad luck to step on the seal
in front of the Hall
If you do, its rumored you will not graduate


The University was founded in 1751 and named after King George that predated the United States itself
Its known for its number one ranking in the world for International Relations plus a major
source for Wall Street candidates

Fun Fact:
The Hoya nickname and chant did not come from the classical Greek language (as some have thought) but just a college cheer that has evolved over the years


As i walk down the cobblestone streets here are some examples of the Federalist Style of buildings that is of a Neo Classical Architecture
It was part of the movement that began in the mid-18th century in Italy, Germany and France which became a prominent design method in the western world 


Georgetown played a significant role in the Underground Railroad with many of its historic buildings, the Methodist Church (with its buried vault that served as a hiding place) and the C&O Canal
 plus its docks that played a very active part in the escape of enslaved people 


C&O Canal (Chesapeake and Ohio)

The canal closed in the 1880s due to declining revenues, damage to the waterway from floods and just more efficient modes of transportation
Now managed by the National Park Service the 300km route (184 mile) follows the Potomac River from Georgetown to Cumberland located in Maryland
It has been turned into a popular hiking / biking route plus recreational use for watercraft


Some famous residents of the area included
Alexander Graham Bell, John F Kennedy and Francis Scott Key plus it was the founding
 location of IBM with all those key folks


Embassy Row is a self guided tour that starts near Dupont Circle which features some of the most notable embassies and historical structures in the area

Some buildings i would recommend;
A) Larz Anderson House; its an elegant museum that features artwork and gardens
B) Old Turkish Embassy: a Beaux-Arts Mansion built in 1915 that was one of first to be bought during the Depression in 1932 by that government
Also a fun fact its later owner was Ahmet Ertegun (who co-founded Atlantic Records) studied at Georgetown University
C) Embassy of France; it has a French wine reception and concert hall
D) Heurich House: also known as the "Brewmaster Castle" was the home of German brewer Christian Heurich with available tours and of course tastings
E) The Dupont Underground: its an abandoned streetcar station that has been converted into an arts and cultural venue